INTERNATIONAL TRAILER AWARD

Industry award with new name

The international jury of experts for the previous "Trailer Innovation" has given the renowned industry competition a new, contemporary name: The award is now called the "International Trailer Award".

It is now more than 20 years since former Stünings publishing director Jörg Montag, together with trailer specialist Folkher Braun, launched a separate industry award - the "Trailer Innovation" - for the European trailer and body industry, modeled on the "International Truck of the Year". What was already a matter of course for truck manufacturers at that time was absolutely new territory in the trailer industry in 2002. At last, innovations relating to commercial vehicle trailers were given the space they deserved. Until then, these have hardly been in the media spotlight. This approach also convinced the VDA (Verband der Automobilindustrie), which supported the new platform from the outset. Since then, the awards ceremony has become a fixed part of the program of events during the IAA in Hanover. An expert jury was formed from a group of renowned trade journalists from various European commercial vehicle magazines, which has since then awarded prizes every two years to the best solutions of all types and sizes from the trailer sector. The only requirement for manufacturers to enter the competition: The innovation must deal with the trailer, semitrailer or body - not the motor vehicle.

Now, 21 years after "Trailer Innovation" was founded, the jury of experts has decided to give the important industry competition a new, contemporary name with a stronger international focus. Together,

they decided on the name "International Trailer Award". In this way, those responsible would like to address an even more international audience. To become even more international, a U.S. commercial vehicle magazine is now also part of the jury. The name of the magazine is "ITruck America". The magazine reports on the US trailer market.

The current jury of experts for the International Trailer Award (ITA) consists of the following 15 journalists and magazines: Edwin van der Veer (Auto- en Transportwereld | Netherlands), Jarlath Sweeney (Fleet Transport Magazine | Ireland), Akin Öcal (KASA | Turkey), Snejina Badjeva (Kamioni | Bulgaria), Rolf Grob (Mobilität | Switzerland), Boštjan Paušer (REVIJA TRANSPORT & LOGISTIKA | Slovenia), Dariusz Piernikarski (Samochody Specjalne | Poland), Christoph Kölbel (1Truck America | USA), Florian Engel (1TRUCK MEDIA | Austria), Hendrik De Spiegelaere (Transporama | Belgium), Marilena Matei (Tranzit | Romania), Gianenrico Griffini (Allestimenti & Trasporti | Italy), Philipp Bönders (Truck & Trailer Welt | Germany), Stephan Jansen (Trailer Welt | Germany) and Seppo Alaruikka (Auto, tekniikka ja kuljetus | Finland).

Incidentally, the next round of the International Trailer Award will begin in early 2024. Starting February 29, international manufacturers of truck trailers, semi-trailers and commercial vehicle bodies, as well as trailer components, can apply for the prestigious competition at international-trailer-award.com. The award ceremony will then take place in September 2024 at the IAA Transportation in Hanover.

